Home » Security Training and Tips » The Eight Domains of CISSP

The Eight Domains of CISSP

Cyber Security Whatever the size of your business or the industry in which you operate, security will almost certainly be a primary objective. Whether you collect important data, deal with classified information or just want to safeguard the billing details of your customers, it is vital that you are adequately able to protect data.

Employees who work in cyber security can undergo a single day of CISSP training in order to become official Certified Information Systems Security Professionals.

CISSP training covers eight different domains to guarantee that you and your business get the protection that you require. Take a closer look at the eight domains of CISSP to see how you can benefit from enrolling staff in CISSP training.

1. Security and Risk Management

This domain covered in CISSP training is all about setting expectations. This could include learning about government or workplace standards for information security as well as discussing business guidelines.

2. Asset Security

This domain deals with the more physical side of information management and protection. Asset security might include outlining clear physical ownership of computing devices, data storage accounts and databases.

3. Security Engineering

The domain of security engineering is an important element of CISSP training. This involves the creation of a plan for keeping data and business information safe.

Security engineering can involve determining which methods are best, whether encryption is a necessity for all or some data, how to keep physical sites secure and whether certain vulnerabilities necessitate more advanced protection methods.

4. Communication and Network Security

Networks are among the most vulnerable elements of any business, primarily because they are used so often and by the greatest number of people.

The domain of communication and network security involves creating secure communication channels over a secure network, which might be an in-house messaging system, emails or even phone calls and faxes.

5. Identity and Access Management

This domain focuses on who should be able to access business data and what requirements are in place before access is granted.

You might establish individual passwords for employees, and you will need to create a protocol for off-site access should employees telecommute or need to access networks when out of the office.

6. Security Assessment and Testing

In order to determine whether existing methods of security will be effective, there needs to be testing in place to highlight and identify any vulnerabilities. The domain of security assessment focuses on just that.

7. Security Operations

This domain is all about putting plans into action. Security teams are typically only given limited resources to secure information, so security operations have to be planned well in order to be effective. Security operations might involve outlining recovery strategies or determining incident protocol.

8. Software Development Security

The eighth and final domain of CISSP is software development security, which focuses on identifying, buying, using and then analyzing the very best software to help keep information secure.

Through Ashford Global, businesses can train security personnel to become official CISSP professionals who are familiar with each of the eight domains outlined above.

Call us today and let’s set up the training you need for your staff.


Tags: , , ,

About this author:


Frank is a leading trainer in IT Security.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.