Home » Security Training and Tips » CISSP – The Information Security Specialist

CISSP – The Information Security Specialist

Networking concept: Cloud With Padlock on digital backgroundThe Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP) is an independent Information Security certification.  This credential is governed by the nonprofit organization International Information Systems Security Certification Consortium, commonly known as (ISC)2. The CISSP Certification was the first credential in the field of Information Security to be accredited by ANSI (American National Standards Institute) to ISO (International Organization for Standardization) Standard 17024:2003. The CISSP Certificate is more than just an objective measure of brilliance and security specialization; it is a globally accepted standard of achievement. With over 64,000 CISSPs worldwide, the CISSP Certificate is a jewel in any Information Security practitioner’s crown.

About the Certification

To be issued the CISSP Certificate, candidates must successfully complete a six-hour certification exam. The exam consists of 250 multiple choice questions.  To pass the exam, candidates must secure at least 700 points. Topics covered on the certification exam include the ten CBK domains:

  • Access Control
  • Information Security and Risk Management
  • Cryptography
  • Physical (Environmental) Security
  • Security Architecture and Design
  • Business Continuity and Disaster Recovery Planning
  • Telecommunications and Networking Security
  • Application Development Security
  • Operations Security
  • Legal, Regulations, Compliance and Investigations

In addition to passing the certification exam, candidates who wish to earn the CISSP Certification must meet some very strict requirements:

  • Candidates must have at least five years of working experience as a full-time security professional in two or more of the ten CBK domains listed above. However, if a candidate possesses a four-year college degree, a Master’s degree in Information Security, or at least one certification from another organization, one year of experience can be waived.
  • Candidates must comply with CISSP’s Code of Ethics and provide written proof of their professional experience.
  • Candidates must have their application endorsed by a fellow (ISC)2 professional in good-standing.
  • Candidates must truthfully answer four questions regarding their criminal history and related background.

To prepare for the CISSP Certification examination, enroll in a training course at Ashford Global IT (AGIT).  In this five-day training course, candidates will thoroughly explore the ten CBK domains through lectures, discussions, and hands-on activities.

Contact Ashford Global IT today for more information on its Certified Information Systems Security Professional training course!

Tags: , , , ,

About this author:


Frank is a leading trainer in IT Security.

Comments are closed.