Home » Security Training and Tips » CISSP: The Elite Security Certification

CISSP: The Elite Security Certification

Certified Check MarkThanks to innovations in the IT domain, people all around the world are now connected. However, one disadvantage has managed to rear its ugly head: less security. With information flowing through electronic media, such as e-mails and e-commerce forms, protecting data and money is very necessary. Due to this, every company hires at least one IT professional with a security certification. One of the famed security certificates around is the Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP) Certification.


The Certified Information Systems Security Professional Certification is offered by the International Information System Security Certification Consortium (ISC)2. This organization’s offerings are considered the Gold Standard in information security certifications. So, by choosing CISSP, you will be taking a step that will lead you all the way up the ladder of success in the world of information security.

The CISSP credential is the first to be accredited by the American National Standards Institute (ANSI) to ISO Standard 17024:2003. In order for you to apply for it, you should have at least five full years of experience in information security. That experience has to be in two or more of these ten (ISC)2 CISSP domains:

  1. Access Control
  2. Application Development Security
  3. Business Continuity and Disaster Recovery Planning
  4. Cryptography
  5. Information Security Governance and Risk Management
  6. Legal, Regulations, Investigations and Compliance
  7. Operations Security
  8. Physical (Environmental) Security
  9. Security Architecture and Design
  10. Telecommunications and Network Security

The Certification Procedure

In order to become a Certified Information Systems Security Professional, you must successfully complete four processes:

  • The Examination Process: First, a CISSP candidate should apply for the certification exam by signing up for a date and location of the CISSP Certification exam and then submitting the examination fees. A confirmation that the candidate possesses a minimum of five years of professional experience in the information security field should also be included.  However, that prerequisite can be substituted with the following:
    • Four years of professional experience in information security plus a college degree
    • An Advanced Degree in Information Security from a National Center of Excellence or the regional equivalent (this can substitute for a year towards the aforementioned five-year prerequisite)
    • A completed and attested copy of the Examination Agreement should also be provided. Finally, successfully answering four questions on criminal history and related background will be the last step in this process.
  • The Certification Process: In order to get your CISSP Certificate, you must:
    • Pass the CISSP Certification exam with at least 700 points
    • Provide a completed and executed Endorsement Form
    • Pass an auditing session regarding your professional experience
  • The Endorsement Process: Once you have been informed of passing your CISSP Certification exam, your application must be endorsed. The endorser will attest that whatever professional experience you claimed earlier is true and that you have a firm grasp on information security.
  • Audit: You and others who passed the exam will be randomly selected and audited by (ISC)2 before your CISSP Certificate is issued to you.

If you’re interested in taking a security training course, Ashford Global IT welcomes you to take advantage of its skilled staff and abundant resources. Becoming a CISSP is not easy; however, with your efforts and the institute’s guidance, it is quite possible.

Tags: , , ,

About this author:


Mary is a leading trainer in Microsoft® and Business Applications.

Comments are closed.