Home » Security Training and Tips » CISM: Why It’s The Best

CISM: Why It’s The Best

The Certified Information Security Manager (CISM) Certification is the fastest growing security credential for a manager. In its first three years alone, the CISM Certification has created more than 6,000 certified managers. Although there are many other similar qualifications, what makes the CISM Certification unique is its relevance to both regulatory law and business.

Recognized as a major job requirement by the U.S. Department of Defense for more than 50,000 of their security managers, this is the ultimate training for any security professional.

Granted by the Information System Audit and Control Association (ISACA), CISM is a sister qualification of the Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISA) Certification. Valid in more than 160 countries, these are the best certifications for any IT security professional.

ISACA.org is the definitive resource guide for any security professional. It offers the latest news about its certifications as well as articles related to the field.

To attain the CISM Certification, individuals must pass a written examination and possess at least 5 years of Information Security experience. No less than three years of work experience in any Information Security Management field is also a must.

The CISM exam is offered twice every year – in June and December. The CISM exam consists of 200 multiple choice questions that cover five syllabus areas: Information Security Governance, Risk Management, Information Security Program Management, Information Security Management, and Response Management.  These areas are selected from the most recent CISM job practice analysis. This analysis is conducted by thoroughly surveying industry experts, industry specialists, and other prominent practitioners.

At Ashford Global IT (AGIT), there are skilled instructors who provide thorough training to cover the entire depth of the CISM syllabus. There is an advanced focus on management duties and risk management, both of which are invaluable in today’s business environments. The CISM training course is specifically designed for individuals involved with governance and risk management.

Ashford Global IT takes pride in its classroom structure and the fact that its teachers cater to the unique needs of the CISM syllabus and those of its students. The training provided emphasizes real world experience so that each and every one of the students can apply his or her knowledge to real life scenarios.

The CISM Certification exam covers a very wide range of topics; therefore attending a training session should be on top of any student’s priorities. Every CISM student training at Ashford Global IT is given practice exam questions as well as individual and team activities and exercises at regular intervals. This makes sure that students are progressing through the class with thorough understanding of each subject reviewed.

The five core competencies students will have to face during their CISM Certification exam are the same which are covered in the syllabus, i.e. Information Security Governance, Information Risk Management, Information Security Program Development, Information Security Program Management, and Incident Management and Response.

Ashford Global IT can help you achieve the impressive CISM Certification. Come to Ashford Global IT to take your Information Security career to a whole new level.


About this author:


Frank is a leading trainer in IT Security.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.