Home » Security Training and Tips » Certified Information Systems Security Professional: Next Level Certification for IT Security Professionals

Certified Information Systems Security Professional: Next Level Certification for IT Security Professionals

The Certified Information Systems Security Professional or CISSP certification is the next credential that Information Security professionals need to acquire after practicing their professions for five full years. Many authorities in the said field consider it the next step up for those who have built several years of experience in the field of IT security. Anyone who is in charge of procedures as well as policy development with regard to Information Security should work towards obtaining this certification.

What is a CISSP?

Simply put, a CISSP is a professional that assures the security of business environments. In the world of information technology, that may seem like a very broad scope of responsibility. Well, if people dig a little bit deeper, they will find out that such a profession specifically delves on defining the design, management, and architecture of security controls used in a particular business.

Those who are able to achieve this certification demonstrate that they have competencies with regard to the security issues that challenge the industry today. This level of competency is no less than globally recognized. It covers critical areas such as risk management, mobile security, security in application development, cloud computing, and a whole lot more. Professionals who have a CISSP certification under their belt are known for the breadth of their experience and knowledge in these aforementioned fields.

CISSP Domains

Professionals who are working toward their Certified Information Systems Security Professional certification are required to focus their experience in at least two specific domains, which include: Access Control, Physical (Environmental) Security, Telecommunications and Network Security, Business Continuity and Disaster Recovery Planning, Cryptography, Software Development Security, Operations Security, Security Architecture and Design, Information Security Governance and Risk Management, and Legal, Regulations, Investigations and Compliance.

Other Requirements

Other than the required years of professional experience in the above mentioned domains, professionals are also required to present an endorsement form filled out by another Information Security professional. In effect, the endorser verifies your professional experience. The last thing that will be required is to pass the Certified Information Systems Security Professional exam.

To learn more, contact Ashford Global IT today!

Tags: , , ,

About this author:


Frank is a leading trainer in IT Security.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.