Home » ITIL » Which ITIL® Certification Types Do Training Managers Need to Know About?

Which ITIL® Certification Types Do Training Managers Need to Know About?

ITIL Certification LevelsITIL® is a complex qualification scheme. Professionals can follow a number of paths to earn their credentials, and their choices have a major impact on what they can do with their careers.

For the HR staff tasked with conducting corporate ITIL training, it’s even possible to implement a tailor-made ITIL curriculum, but doing so isn’t always easy. Training managers may find that breaking the ITIL Certification scheme down into its major components makes it easier to tackle organizational education.

Understanding ITIL’s Basic Structure

Although the ITIL Framework is by no means simple, it can be divided into the following four general sections:

  1. Foundation
  2. Intermediate
  3. Expert
  4. Master

ITIL Foundation

As you might expect, the Foundation Certification is uniform; it’s designed to help students harmonize their knowledge about the framework. In Foundation training, your team members will learn how ITIL defines core service management concepts and methodologies.

Foundation-level training, unlike some introductory courses, is appropriate for all kinds of employees. This is largely because its lessons are accessible and applicable to many common IT situations.

For instance, teaching your customer-service representatives how to respond to inquiries politely and attentively is one thing. Teaching them how to route such inquiries to the correct parties so they actually get solved cost effectively is another matter completely.

Training programs like ITIL Awareness make it easier to get your staff in the right mindset so that they understand their unique roles in your organization. Motivating your employees to prepare for and pass the 2-credit ITIL® Foundation exam is also an essential prerequisite if your organization plans on employing the framework in earnest.

ITIL Intermediate

At the Intermediate level, your professional students get to learn more about specifics. This 15-credit certification offers two curriculum pathway choices:

  1. Service Lifecycle
  2. Service Capability

Because trainees get to mix and match, they can build unique ITIL knowledge that still meets the requirements for credentialing.

ITIL Expert

The Expert certification sort of ties everything together. Building on the Foundation and Intermediate credits, it includes a Managing Across the Lifecycle (MALC) exam worth an additional five credits. The concepts covered in MALC training still involve ITSM, but they’re more targeted toward decision makers and project planners. This can translate into ITIL Certified Experts make great supervisors.

ITIL Master

This is the final certification level. It requires five years of relevant work experience instead of extra learning module credits, so it’s really intended for those who dedicate themselves to their careers.

Fortunately, implementing a healthy professional education program can make it easier to fulfill Master-level requirements even as your candidates work to understand MALC, complete new projects and manage ongoing services.

Training shouldn’t stop you from running a company, and while knowing the basics of your curriculum helps, it’s even better if you can develop a training plan with help from an experienced guide. Get in touch with Ashford Global consultants to build an ITIL regimen that actually delivers results.


Tags: , , ,

About this author:


Frank is a leading trainer in IT Security.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.