Home » ITIL » Understanding the ITIL® V3 Qualification Scheme

Understanding the ITIL® V3 Qualification Scheme

The ITIL® V3 Qualification Scheme offers a tiered, modular approach to understanding the ITIL framework and includes a number of qualifications that are focused on various aspects of the ITIL Best Practice to different degrees of detail and depth. There are 4 levels in the ITIL V3 Qualification Scheme: ITIL Foundation in IT Service Management, the ITIL Intermediate Level, the ITIL Expert Level, and the ITIL Master Qualification.


ITIL Foundation in IT Service Management

The ITIL Foundation Level is the entry level qualification that provides candidates with a general overview of key elements, terminology and concepts used in the ITIL framework. The ITIL Foundation course is geared towards those who need a basic understanding of the ITIL framework, those requiring knowledge about how ITIL may be utilized to improve IT Service Management in an organization, or those who work in an organization which has adopted ITIL.

ITIL Intermediate Level

The ITIL Intermediate Level consists of two steams: the Capability Stream and the Lifecycle Stream.  The Capability Stream focuses on the day-to-day execution of ITIL practices by providing focused, detailed information on a series of processes.  There are four modules in the Capability Stream: Service Offerings and Agreements; Release, Control and Validation; Operational Support and Analysis; and Planning, Protection and Optimization.  The Lifecycle Stream provides broad, management level knowledge of each Lifecycle stage.  There are five modules in the Lifecycle Stream: Service Strategy, Service Design, Service Transition, Service Operation, and Continual Service Improvement. Candidates can select modules from one stream or choose modules from both streams.

The ITIL Managing Across the Lifecycle module serves as the capstone qualification and is the last and final module that a candidate needs to successfully complete before achieving the ITIL Expert Level.

ITIL Expert Level

The ITIL Expert Qualification is designed for IT professionals who are ready to demonstrate their premium knowledge of the overall ITIL framework. Candidates must have at least 22 credits to be eligible for the ITIL Expert Certification. The required module combinations are various, but there are some main prerequisites that all candidates must meet: hold the ITIL Foundation Certificate (worth 2 credits), have at least 15 credits from qualifications in the Lifecycle Stream and/or Capability Stream, and successfully complete the Managing Across the Lifecycle module (worth 5 credits).

ITIL Master Qualification

The ITIL Master Qualification is the final level in the ITIL V3 Qualification Scheme.  To achieve this level, a candidate must hold the ITIL Expert Certification and have at least 5 years of professional experience in a managerial, leadership, or higher level role in the IT Service Management field.

To learn more about the ITIL V3 Qualification Scheme, contact Ashford Global IT today!

About this author:

Angel Prusinowski

Angel is a leading ITIL® instructor at Ashford Global IT.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.