Home » ITIL » Understanding the ITIL® Capability Stream

Understanding the ITIL® Capability Stream

teamwork conceptThe ITIL® Capability Stream is one Stream available in the ITIL Intermediate Level. The four modules in this Stream focus mainly on a clustered grouping of processes and their use and execution in the various phases of ITIL Service Lifecycle. The four qualifications are as follows:

  • Service Offerings and Agreements (SOA)  This module consists of processes that deal with Service Design and Service Strategy. These include Supplier Management, Financial Management, Service Level Management, Demand Management, Service Portfolio Management, and Service Catalog Management.
  • Planning, Protection and Optimization (PPO) – This course deals with processes in Service Strategy and Service Design including Availability Management, Capacity Management, IT Service Continuity Management, Demand Management, Risk Management, and Information Security Management.
  • Release, Control and Validation (RCV) – This module focuses on the processes related to Service Transition and Service Operation.  Key processes studied include Change Management, Service Release and Deployment Management, Service Validation and Testing, Service Asset and Configuration Management, Knowledge Management, Request Fulfillment, and Service Evaluation.
  • Operational Support and Analysis (OSA) – This course mainly covers the processes and functions in Service Operation and Continual Service Improvement. These include Event Management, Incident Management, Request Fulfillment, Problem Management, Access Management, Service Desk, Technical Management, IT Operations Management, and Application Management.

There is one prerequisite that needs to be satisfied to gain entry to any module in the ITIL Intermediate Level: hold the ITIL Foundation Certificate.

At the end of each module, there is a certification exam to determine if the candidate is able to understand, analyze, and implement the various components taught during the course.  Examinations for all of the above modules follow the same pattern and include eight scenario-based, multiple-choice questions.

There are four options to each question: the best choice is worth 5 marks, the second best choice is worth 3 marks, a merely acceptable choice is worth 1 mark, and one distracter achieves no marks.  Each exam must be completed within 90 minutes.  The passing score is 70%, or a minimum of 28 out of 40 marks.

To learn more about the ITIL Capability Stream, contact Ashford Global IT today!

Tags: , , , , ,

About this author:

Jon Francum

Jon is the Director of Training at Ashford Global IT.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.