Home » ITIL » The ITIL® V3 Foundation Course – What’s Involved?

The ITIL® V3 Foundation Course – What’s Involved?

The ITIL® concepts for IT Service Management (ITSM) have been widely adopted within many IT departments of the world’s leading companies including Procter and Gamble, NASA, Boeing, Disney, HSBC Bank, and IBM.

ITIL provides an effective, proven way to manage ITSM in an organization. ITIL sets out a clear model for IT Service Management that ensures roles and functions are clearly defined and that IT work passes through a set Lifecycle, designed to provide solid, consistent IT services with minimal disruptions to business operations.

What is Explored in the ITIL Foundation Course?

The ITIL V3 Foundation course provides an excellent grounding in the principles of the IT Infrastructure Library® and IT Service Management. This course introduces the best practice concepts of the ITIL framework and provides students with awareness of the five stages of the Service Lifecycle: Service Strategy, Service Design, Service Transition, Service Operation and Continual Service Improvement. Students will study the key principles, processes, activities, and roles in each stage of the Service Lifecycle. In addition, this course explores the benefits of implementing ITIL in any organization. Students will also receive an overview of the ITIL V3 Qualification Scheme.

What are the Requirements to Gain the ITIL V3 Foundation Certification?

In order to gain the ITIL V3 Foundation Certification, candidates must complete a 60-minute exam that consists of 40 multiple choice questions. A passing score is 65% or more. It is recommended that candidates participate in at least 18 hours of training with an accredited organization prior to taking the test; some self-study is also recommended.

Candidates successfully completing the ITIL Foundation Certification exam are awarded two credits in the ITIL V3 Qualification Scheme as well as 22 Project Management Institute PDUs (Personal Development Units).

Who Should Take the ITIL Foundation Course?

The ITIL Foundation course is perfect for IT professionals who require a basic understanding of ITIL or are working in a company that uses or plans to adopt ITIL.

ITIL Foundation accreditation is a great addition to resumes for IT professionals. Many graduates continue to advance in the ITIL V3 Qualification Scheme, working towards the Expert and Master Level Certifications, which are highly regarded in today’s job marketplace.

What is the Next Stage of ITIL Accreditation?

Candidates who successfully complete the ITIL Foundation Certification exam have met the prerequisite to enroll in modules in the ITIL Intermediate Level. Individuals can choose to take as few or as many ITIL Intermediate modules as they desire.

To learn more about the ITIL Foundation course, contact Ashford Global IT today!


About this author:

Angel Prusinowski

Angel is a leading ITIL® instructor at Ashford Global IT.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.