Home » ITIL » The Deming Cycle

The Deming Cycle

The goal of the Deming Cycle, or more commonly known as the Circle for Quality Improvement, is steady, continual improvement. There are four steps within this cycle: Plan, Do, Check and Act.

  1. Plan – This step of the Deming Cycle plans for improvement initiatives by determining goals and targets as well as establishing methods to reach those objectives.
  2. Do – The “Do” step is when the actual improvements are implemented.
  3. Check – This step of the Deming Cycle monitors, measures, and evaluates the services and Service Management processes. The measurements are compared with the project goals to determine if progress has been made.
  4. Act – Based on the information that has been gathered, action should be taken to standardize or plan for improvement.

Tags: , , , ,

About this author:


Mary is a leading trainer in Microsoft® and Business Applications.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.