Home » ITIL » The 6-Step CSI Model

The 6-Step CSI Model

Businesses need to continuously upgrade and improve their services in order to remain competitive.  Therefore, there is a need for steady, ongoing improvements throughout the Service Lifecycle.

The Continual Service Improvement (CSI) stage is the phase in the ITIL® Service Lifecycle that focuses on creating and maintaining continuous value for customers. This is done by identifying and implementing improvements to the IT services that support the business processes.

A key feature of the CSI phase is the Six Step CSI Model:

  • Step 1 – What is the vision?
    • The vision of any business is a statement that indicates where you would like the business to be at some future time. The vision should take into account the business and IT objectives as well as the goals of the organization and should ensure that all involved share a common understanding of the aspirations and goals.
  • Step 2 – Where are we now?
    • The current situation must be evaluated to obtain an accurate and unbiased snapshot of the business, organization, people, processes and technology. This has to be a clear and true picture of the business as the organization can only set a clear target based on accurate information.
  • Step 3 – Where do we want to be?
    • The steps toward achieving the goals should be clearly defined based on the needs for improvement. This should be done by setting measureable targets and progress towards the vision in a systematic way.
  • Step 4 – How do we get there?
    • A comprehensive CSI plan should be prepared to deliver higher quality services by implementing ITSM processes. This should clearly list the service and process techniques that will be used to achieve the vision.
  • Step 5 – Did we get there?
    • The fifth step is to monitor the achievements of the organization. Through measurements and metrics, guarantees should be given that business objectives were accomplished and priorities were met.
  • Step 6 – How do we keep the momentum going?
    • The last step is to verify that the quality of the service has improved. Once this is done, a new cycle beginning at Step One should commence. This is to ensure that the process is continuous, and the organization is always looking for opportunities for improvement.

Tags: , , , ,

About this author:

Angel Prusinowski

Angel is a leading ITIL® instructor at Ashford Global IT.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.