Home » ITIL » Obtaining the Master Qualification in ITIL® Service Capability

Obtaining the Master Qualification in ITIL® Service Capability

In-Office TrainingOne of the most appealing things about ITIL®, or the Information Technology Infrastructure Library, is how diverse the course offerings are.

ITIL is not something embraced by entry-level employees but ignored at the top, nor is it a set of principles that only managers can benefit from.

Every employee, no matter what area of the office or stage of the life cycle they represent, can utilize ITIL methods in order to help a business become more efficient and deliver better products and services to their customers.

While it is certainly not necessary for everyone to train to become a master in ITIL, having one or two people in management positions who have this qualification can be incredibly beneficial for an IT service company.

ITIL Foundation Training

The first step in earning the Master qualification in the study of ITIL is completing the ITIL Foundation course. Typically taking three full days to complete, the program is available both onsite and online for the convenience of students. The ITIL Foundation curriculum is engaging and informative, and it lays the groundwork for anyone interested in pursuing a more advanced qualification in the field.

Focusing on Service Capability

After completing the Foundation program, the next step on the path to an ITIL Master qualification is choosing a focus. Generally, students will need to decide whether to pursue the Service Capabilities stream or the Service Lifecycle stream. If your goal is to become a master in ITIL service capabilities, then the first stream will be your best pick.

Once you make that decision, you will need to complete the four courses within that stream before moving on to the next stage. These courses are Operational Support and Analysis, Planning Protection and Optimization, Release, Control and Validation, and Service Offerings and Agreements.

Managing Across the Lifecycle

After completing the four courses in the Service Capabilities stream, you will be ready to complete the Expert class called Managing Across the Lifecycle, or MALC. This five-day course is only for those with extensive knowledge in the world of ITIL, and it touches on topics like managing and implementing ITIL procedure in the workplace, assessing service and analyzing risk.

Becoming an ITIL Expert

With MALC under your belt, you will be ready to become an official ITIL Expert. You should have a minimum of 22 ITIL credits at this stage, which means you are eligible to register as having the Expert ITIL qualification. For businesses, having an ITIL Expert on the payroll means being completely prepared to implement ITIL across the board.

Obtaining the ITIL Master Qualification

Many ITIL professionals are happy to stop after earning an Expert qualification. However, if your goal is to become a Master in ITIL Service Capability, there is one more step to take. At this stage, you will need to have five years of relevant work experience documented, preferably in IT service management roles. This is the highest qualification that you can earn in the ITIL field.

To lead a business with knowledge, management skills and a wealth of information about ITIL, it takes someone who is certified as a Master in ITIL Service Capability.

Find out how you can earn your Master in ITIL Service Cabability through our training programs.


Tags: , , ,

About this author:

Jon Francum

Jon is the Director of Training at Ashford Global IT.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.