Home » ITIL » Key Information Regarding ITIL® Foundation

Key Information Regarding ITIL® Foundation

Shopping cart and box sale. Shopping at supermarket. Many boxes.The IT Infrastructure Library®, also known as ITIL®, originated in the United Kingdom.  It has since become recognized around the world as a set of best practices when it comes to IT Service Management (ITSM). ITIL offers detailed descriptions relating to the most important practices and concepts in information technology. For example, ITIL outlines what procedures and processes ought to be adopted in a given set of circumstances.

Like most other fields of studies, ITIL has undergone several updates since its first appearance on the scene. ITIL Version 1 had over 30 volumes. ITIL Version 2 had eight books published. ITIL Version 3 had five books published in May 2007: Service Strategy, Service Design, Service Transition, Service Operation, and Continual Service Improvement.  These core disciplines also make up the stages of the Service Lifecycle.

Among experts and novices alike, an ITIL Certification is regarded as the standard in the IT field which assures potential employers that candidates are qualified for IT related positions. In ITIL V3, there are four levels of certification: Foundation, Intermediate, Expert, and Master.

ITIL Foundation Certification

The ITIL Foundation Certification exam is designed for the effective assessment of a candidate’s knowledge in regards to the best practices used in the field of information technology. An ITIL Foundation course will not only prepare students to pass the certification exam but it will also introduce students to ITIL, IT Service Management, and the Service Lifecycle. Students will learn the basic terminologies and definitions as well as the broader concepts that are associated with ITSM.  Key principles, roles, activities, and processes will also be studied.

The ITIL Foundation Certification examination comprises of forty multiple choice questions that must be answered within one hour. To pass the exam and earn your Foundation Certificate, you must correctly answer 26 questions (65% of the marks).  Candidates successfully completing the Foundation Certification exam can attend modules in the Intermediate Level to attain a more comprehensive understanding of the concepts in ITIL.

Ashford Global IT (AGIT) offers training at all levels of the ITIL curriculum. For students interested in earning their ITIL Foundation Certificate, AGIT offers comprehensive training through the following methods: open-enrollment courses held throughout the United States, on-site training held on a company’s premises, virtual instructor-led training, and online self-paced training.

For more information on ITIL training, contact Ashford Global IT today!

Tags: , , , ,

About this author:

Jon Francum

Jon is the Director of Training at Ashford Global IT.

Comments are closed.