Home » ITIL » ITIL® V3 Qualification Scheme

ITIL® V3 Qualification Scheme

ITIL® is a framework that is used to improve and enhance the overall functioning of any IT department. The implementation of ITIL in any organization is a very difficult task and requires those implementing this framework to have the requisite knowledge and skills. If ITIL is not put into operation properly, an organization cannot enjoy all the benefits ITIL has to offer.

The ITIL V3 Qualification Scheme consists of four levels and helps IT professionals receive the necessary knowledge.  The four levels are:

  • ITIL Foundation in IT Service Management
  • ITIL Intermediate Level
  • ITIL Expert Level
  • ITIL Master Qualification

ITIL V3 Foundation

As the name suggests, the ITIL V3 Foundation Level provides student with a basic overview of ITIL, the Service Lifecycle, and key processes, terminologies and roles.

ITIL Intermediate Level

The ITIL Intermediate Level builds on the information presented in the ITIL Foundation course.  There are two Streams in the ITIL Intermediate Level – Service Lifecycle Stream and Service Capability Stream.  The Service Lifecycle Stream offers students in-depth knowledge on each Lifecycle Stage.  There are five modules in this Stream, each one representing one stage in the Service Lifecycle – Service Strategy, Service Design, Service Transition, Service Operation, and Continual Service Improvement.

The Service Capability Stream offers students comprehensive knowledge on one or more processes.  There are four modules in this Stream – Operational Support and Analysis, Release, Control and Validation, Service Offerings and Agreements, and Planning, Protection and Optimization.

Students can choose to take as many ITIL Intermediate Level modules as they wish and can select modules from both Streams.

ITIL Expert Level

At this level, candidates are expected to have advanced knowledge of ITIL. Prerequisites to earning the ITIL Expert Certification include:

  • Minimum of 17 credit hours from the ITIL Foundation Level and the ITIL Intermediate Level Service Lifecycle modules and/or Service Capability modules
  • Successfully complete the Managing Across the Lifecycle module
  • Have a well-rounded comprehension regarding ITIL and the Service Lifecycle

ITIL Master Level

This is the most advanced level in the ITIL V3 Qualification Scheme.  Those holding the ITIL V3 Master Level Certification are said to be knowledgeable and capable of applying ITIL methods and techniques in various organizations. In order to achieve the ITIL Master Level, the candidate must apply his/her knowledge to practical assignments. This level does not have a pre-defined syllabus.

Prerequisites for the ITIL V3 Master Qualification are:

  • Hold the ITIL Expert Certificate
  • Have at least 5 years of professional experience in the IT Service Management domain

Once an IT professional has achieved the ITIL Master Qualification, he/she can then implement, amend and control the ITIL framework in any organization with ease.

Tags: , , , , ,

About this author:

Angel Prusinowski

Angel is a leading ITIL® instructor at Ashford Global IT.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.