Home » ITIL » ITIL® V3 Qualification Scheme – General Overview

ITIL® V3 Qualification Scheme – General Overview

Vector illustration of realistic neon gears with wires and textIT Service Management (ITSM) is a vital component in the grand machine of business, and one that no company can afford to ignore.  There are numerous methodologies that can drive ITSM forward, but the most commonly used is the IT Infrastructure Library® (ITIL®).  Essentially, ITIL V3 2011 is a detailed framework that extends through all aspects of IT Service Management, boosting its overall effectiveness while lowering its overall cost.

ITIL cannot be mastered simply by reading a quick Internet article; it takes skilled instructions to understand all facets of the ITIL framework.  There are basic elements behind the ITIL V3 Qualification Scheme, and understanding them is important.

There are four levels in the ITIL V3 2011 Qualification Scheme, each one building on the previous level(s) to provide the candidate with a comprehensive understanding of the ITIL framework. The basic, entry-level class is known as ITIL Foundation, and it is just that – a course designed to lay a solid foundation on which to build the rest of the ITIL training.

With the fundamentals mastered, students can choose to enroll in modules in the ITIL Intermediate Level.  There are two streams in the ITIL Intermediate Level: the Capability Stream and the Lifecycle Stream.  Modules in the Lifecycle Stream take a holistic approach to the phases in the Service Lifecycle while modules in the Capability Stream provide in-depth knowledge on specific types of processes.  The ITIL Managing Across the Lifecycle course is the final course in the ITIL Intermediate Level; this course covers the full spectrum of ITIL V3 20011 applications, processes, and implementations.

Following the Intermediate Level, the next step in the ITIL V3 Qualification Scheme is ITIL Expert.  In order for candidates to become an ITIL Expert, they must possess the ITIL Foundation Certificate, obtain at least 15 credits from the ITIL Service Lifecycle or Service Capability qualifications, and successfully complete the Managing Across the Lifecycle module. At this level, candidates will have an extensive understanding of ITIL V3 and IT Service Management.

The ITIL V3 Qualification Scheme’s pinnacle is the ITIL Master Qualification, and it requires that the candidate reach the ITIL Expert Level as well as have at least five years of leadership or managerial experience in the IT Service Management field.  Mastering ITIL V3 2011 ensures that professionals are fully versed in all aspects of ITIL, that they can readily adapt to changes in the business environment, that they can lead an organization through audits, general improvements, and organizational change, and that they can become an ITIL trainer or consultant.  Reaching this level takes effort but the rewards are well worth it as it leads to better pay, more career advancement, and better job opportunities.

To learn more, contact Ashford Global IT today!

Tags: , , , ,

About this author:


Mary is a leading trainer in Microsoft® and Business Applications.

Comments are closed.