Home » ITIL » ITIL® V3 Qualification Scheme: An Overview

ITIL® V3 Qualification Scheme: An Overview

ITIL® V3 is perhaps the most popular and widely used approach to IT Service Management. It is an acronym for the Information Technology Infrastructure Library® Version 3. Although this approach started in the United Kingdom, it is now used all over the world.

The ITIL V3 Qualification Scheme provides a modular approach to understanding the ITIL framework. The four levels in the ITIL V3 Qualification Scheme focus on the aspects of the ITIL best practice to various degrees of detail:

ITIL Foundation Level

This is the entry-level ITIL qualification. It gives you a general overview of the major elements, concepts and terminologies used in the ITIL framework. The ITIL Foundation course provides you with a basic understanding of ITIL and how it can benefit your company.

After you successfully complete this level, you can move on to further certifications in the ITIL V3 Qualification Scheme.

ITIL Intermediate Level

There are two Streams of education in the ITIL Intermediate Level: the Capability Stream and the Lifecycle Stream.

The Capability Stream focuses on the daily execution of specific practices in ITIL. Hence, you will be given focused and detailed information on a series of processes involved in ITIL. This Stream consists of four modules – Planning, Protection and Optimization, Service Offerings and Agreements, Operational Support and Analysis, and Release, Control and Validation.

Each module in the Lifecycle Stream gives you broad, management level knowledge of a specific Service Lifecycle stage.  The five modules in this Stream are Service Strategy, Service Design, Service Transition, Service Operation, and Continual Service Improvement.

Since this Level is made up of several modules, you have the freedom to select which certifications are appropriate or interesting for you. This way, your career and educational requirements and qualifications will match the certification.

ITIL Expert Level

The ITIL Expert Level is for IT professionals who have premium knowledge of the ITIL framework. In order to be eligible for this level, you must have no less than 22 credits. This can be a combination of different modules. Please bear in mind that there are basic prerequisites that must be achieved, such as holding the ITIL Foundation Certificate and successfully completing the Managing Across the Lifecycle course.

ITIL Master Level

This is the final level in the ITIL V3 Qualification Scheme.  To be considered for this qualification, you must hold the ITIL Expert Certification and have no less than 5 years of professional experience in management, leadership, or higher positions in the field of IT Service Management.

Tags: , , , ,

About this author:


Mary is a leading trainer in Microsoft® and Business Applications.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.