Home » ITIL » ITIL® V3 Qualification Scheme

ITIL® V3 Qualification Scheme

When it comes to being ITIL® certified, it is important to understand the different levels in the ITIL Qualification Scheme and the significance of each level. In this article, we will break down the levels and offer a brief overview of each.

ITIL Qualification Scheme In Whole

The ITIL Qualification Scheme takes a modular approach. Each module varies in the information provided as well as the depth and detail of that information. These modules allow the candidate to earn credits for each one they complete. The levels in the ITIL Qualification Scheme are: the ITIL Foundation Level in IT Service Management, ITIL Intermediate Level, ITIL Expert Level, and ITIL Master Qualification.

ITIL Foundation Level

The entry level qualification is the ITIL Foundation Certificate in IT Service Management. This module introduces candidates to the key concepts, elements and terminology used in the ITIL framework. Students will study the five stages of the Service Lifecycle (Service Strategy, Service Design, Service Transition, Service Operation, and Continual Service Improvement), the activities, roles, and processes in each stage, and the relationships between the Lifecycle stages.

Why Take The ITIL Foundation Course?

The ITIL Foundation Certificate is not only a prerequisite to enroll in modules in the ITIL Intermediate Level, but taking the ITIL Foundation gives candidates a general overview of ITIL, which leads to a better understanding of ITIL.

Taking the ITIL Foundation course is open to anyone who has interest, but is primarily geared for those who:

  • Need a basic understanding of the ITIL framework
  • Need an understanding of how ITIL enhances the quality of IT Service Management
  • Work in an organization that has adopted ITIL

ITIL Intermediate Level

Each module in the ITIL Intermediate Level has a different focus. A candidate can take which Intermediate Qualifications that they need to meet their individual requirements. The Intermediate Level provides more details than the ITIL Foundation Level. This level is geared toward those candidates who have already attained the ITIL Foundation Certificate and are seeking advanced ITIL knowledge and/or the ITIL Expert Certificate and the ITIL Master Certificate in IT Service Management.

Service Lifecycle Stream

If management is a goal for you, and your employer requires that position to have a broad knowledge of ITIL practices, the five modules in the Service Lifecycle Stream could benefit you.  You will develop specialized knowledge of the ITIL Service Lifecycle, management techniques, and skills which can help you in coordinating all activities and functions in the Service Lifecycle.  The five modules in the Service Lifecycle Stream are:

  • Service Strategy
  • Service Design
  • Service Transition
  • Service Operation
  • Continual Service Improvement

Service Capability Stream

The modules in the Service Capability Stream focus on the daily operational activities of a group of processes. Candidates will examine the process activities from an operation-level viewpoint, study supporting methods, and learn how to execute these processes in a hands-on environment. The four modules in the Service Capability Stream are:

  • Planning, Protection and Optimization
  • Service Offerings and Agreements
  • Operational Support and Analysis
  • Release, Control and Validation

Managing Across the Lifecycle Module

This is the last module in the ITIL Intermediate Level and is a prerequisite in achieving the ITIL Expert Level qualification.  This MALC module is designed for candidates to go from ITIL content knowledge to ITIL application ability with skills that are tangible in an organization. After completing this component, candidates will become knowledgeable in the following areas:

  • Communication and stakeholder management
  • Governance and organization
  • Implementing and improving Service Management capability
  • Integrating Service Management processes across the Service Lifecycle
  • Key concepts of the Service Lifecycle
  • Managing services across the Service Lifecycle

ITIL Expert Level

The ITIL Expert Level is aimed at those individuals who are interested in demonstrating a superior level of knowledge of the ITIL framework in its entirety.

Candidates who achieve the ITIL Expert Certificate will have satisfied the prerequisite entry criteria for the ITIL Master Level: the highest level in the ITIL Qualification Scheme.

To earn the ITIL Expert qualification, a candidate must:

  1. Hold either the ITIL Foundation Certificate or equivalent.
  2. Have a minimum of 15 credits from the Intermediate modules, prior to taking the Managing Across the Lifecycle module.
  3. Pass the Managing Across the Lifecycle module
  4. Have a comprehensive knowledge base across the full ITIL Service Lifecycle

ITIL Master Qualification

This level will validate the candidate’s ability in applying the methods, principles and techniques from ITIL in an organization and its workplace. Candidates are required to explain as well as justify why they chose and applied a range of ITIL knowledge, principles, methods and techniques to support management techniques. Candidates are also required to explain how they will achieve a desired business outcome in at least one practical assignment.

To be eligible for the ITIL Master Qualification, candidates must have fulfilled the following entry criteria:

  • Hold the ITIL Expert Certificate
  • Have a minimum of 5 years in IT Service Management in a leadership, management or advisory level experience.

Ashford Global IT provides all the training modules in the ITIL Qualification SchemeContact AGIT today for more information on ITIL training!

Tags: , , , ,

About this author:

Angel Prusinowski

Angel is a leading ITIL® instructor at Ashford Global IT.

One response to “ITIL® V3 Qualification Scheme”

  1. […] Foundation is the entry-level qualification for the ITIL Qualification Scheme. The training for the module includes concepts that enable users to employ the basics of ITIL while […]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.