Home » ITIL » ITIL® Lifecycle Stream

ITIL® Lifecycle Stream

The IT Infrastructure Library® (ITIL®) is the most widely used approach to IT Service Management (ITSM) in the world. If the guidance and procedures discussed in the ITIL ma

Benefits include:

  • Reduced costs
  • Better IT services
  • Enhanced productivity
  • Better use of experience and skill
  • Improved and enhanced delivery of third party services

There are four levels in the ITIL V3 Qualification Scheme: ITIL Foundation in IT Service Management, ITIL Intermediate Level, ITIL Expert, and ITIL Master.

This article will discuss the ITIL Lifecycle Stream, one of two Streams available in the ITIL Intermediate Level.

Five Modules in the ITIL Lifecycle Stream

The ITIL Lifecycle Stream is comprised of five individual modules. Each module is based on one phase in the ITIL Service Lifecycle. The five modules are:

  • Service Strategy
  • Service Design
  • Service Transition
  • Service Operation
  • Continual Service Improvement

In each module, students will receive an introduction to the Service Lifecycle and the concepts, processes, activities, functions, principles, and roles involved in each specific stage. Each course covers the management of the respective Lifecycle stage and core information of the supporting activities within the Lifecycle stage but not the details of each of the supporting processes.

Target Audience for the ITIL Lifecycle Stream

These modules are targeted at:

  • Individuals who have earned the ITIL V3 Foundation Certificate and are interested in earning Intermediate and Advanced Level ITIL Certifications
  • Individuals who want to have a deeper understanding of the phases in the ITIL Service Lifecycle
  • Professionals who desire to have a complete and thorough knowledge of the ITIL best practices.

This includes: CIOs, CTOs, managers, supervisors, team leaders, designers, architects, planners, IT consultants, IT audit managers, IT security managers, service test managers and ITSM trainers involved in the management, coordination and integration of strategy activities within the Service Lifecycle.

Prerequisites for the ITIL Lifecycle Stream

To enroll in any module in the ITIL Service Lifecycle, students must hold the ITIL V3 Foundation Certificate or the combination of the ITIL V2 Foundation Certificate and V3 Foundation Bridge Certificate. It is also recommended that students complete at least 21 hours of personal study by reviewing the specific Service Lifecycle publication of the module they wish to enroll in.

To learn more about the ITIL Lifecycle Stream, contact Ashford Global IT today!

nuals are followed in a proper manner, businesses and customers can profit in many ways.

About this author:

Angel Prusinowski

Angel is a leading ITIL® instructor at Ashford Global IT.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.