Home » ITIL » ITIL® Intermediate Level Certifications

ITIL® Intermediate Level Certifications

ITIL® is now being implemented in companies worldwide and is considered to be the industry standard for IT Service Management. By implementing ITIL, companies expect to receive the following benefits: reduced IT costs, improved IT services, and alignment of IT and business goals. All personnel in the IT department should have ideally completed and obtained the ITIL Foundation Certification. This is the entry level certification.

The ITIL V3 Qualification Scheme has four levels: ITIL Foundation, ITIL Intermediate Level, ITIL Expert, and ITIL Master.

ITIL Intermediate Qualification

There are two streams in the ITIL Intermediate Level – the Service Capability Stream and the Service Lifecycle Stream.  Each direction has several modules that cover various topics to differing degrees of detail.  There are no restrictions on the number of qualifications candidates can complete.

Service Capability Stream

The Service Capability modules are perfect for those wanting to gain specialized, in-depth knowledge about the various processes needed in the day-to-day operation of ITIL practices. There are four modules within the Service Capability Stream:

  1. Planning, Protection and Optimization
  2. Release, Control and Validation
  3. Service Offerings and Agreements
  4. Operational Support and Analysis

Service Lifecycle Stream

The Service Lifecycle modules are specifically geared towards those in senior management/team leader designations in the IT department and even the company. These modules give candidates a broad overview of the ITIL practice areas needed to manage teams or capability areas. The five modules in the Service Lifecycle Stream correspond to the five stages of the ITIL Service Lifecycle:

    1. Service Strategy
    2. Service Design
    3. Service Transition
    4. Service Operation
    5. Continual Service Improvement

Managing Across the Lifecycle

The ITIL Managing Across the Lifecycle (MALC) qualification is the capstone module in the ITIL Intermediate Level and must be completed successfully before candidates can move to the ITIL Expert Level. This course is geared towards IT professionals who will be leading the ITIL implementation in an organization.

To enter the ITIL Intermediate Level, candidates must hold the ITIL Foundation Certificate. The ITIL Intermediate Level modules are geared towards CIOs (Chief Information Officers), managers, IT architects, CTOs (Chief Technology Officers), IT security managers, IT audit managers, IT planners and other IT personnel. Candidates can take just enough courses to move on to the ITIL Expert Level or as many as they need to better understand and implement ITIL processes.

It is recommended that candidates have at least two years of work experience prior to taking the certification examinations. Each module examination is 90 minutes long and has eight tough multiple-choice, scenario-based, gradient scored questions. Each question will have 4 possible answer options, one of which is worth 5 marks, one which is worth 3 marks, one which is worth 1 mark, and one which is a distracter and achieves no mark. The minimum passing score is 70% or 28 out of 40 marks.

To learn more about the ITIL Intermediate Level, contact Ashford Global IT today!

Tags: , , , , ,

About this author:

Jon Francum

Jon is the Director of Training at Ashford Global IT.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.