Home » ITIL » How the ITIL® Service Lifecycle Can Transform Your Business

How the ITIL® Service Lifecycle Can Transform Your Business

The ITIL® framework gives your organization a competitive edge. It helps your business perform at an optimal level, adapt to changes in the marketplace and deliver the products and services your customers truly need and in such a way that they’re truly satisfied.

How does ITIL accomplish all of this? There are five stages to the ITIL Service Lifecycle, which provides a framework of ideas, processes and measurements that improve your business. Each stage is informed by the other stages, creating a holistic approach to IT Service Management.

Here are the five stages of ITIL Service Lifecycle and how they can help your organization:

1.    Service Strategy. Your Service Strategy is at the center of the Service Lifecycle. It begins with applying your organization’s framework, governance and compliance, legal concerns and even aspects of corporate culture. Service Strategy helps your business make decisions that increase the viability of your products and services through practical and sound decision making. This stage also helps insure that your business units can handle both cost and risk in their portfolio and that they’re ready to improve services.

2.    Service Design. Once the strategy is in place, your organization can start to implement that strategy in a way that empowers growth and increases service quality. Service Design involves changing and improving your existing portfolio to maintain or even increase value to your customers. It means improvements that enhance your service levels, and it means bringing your existing offerings into compliance with any new standards or regulations. This stage also lets you develop new service offerings that have a consistent architecture, factor in your business requirements and include the right type and amount of support.

3.    Service Transition. Once the design and development are complete, your organization still needs to connect operations with projects. This transitional period lets you improve upon any new changes. It helps you gather all the assets related to a service, test them, integrate them and make sure delivery is quality-controlled. By devoting resources to this stage of the ITIL Service Lifecycle, you’ll reduce variations in how services are delivered and improve consistency.

4.    Service Operation. At this stage, the operations department examines its practices from end to end. This means implementing changes that will increase the responsiveness and stability of your services. An essential component of this stage is helping the Service Desk take ownership of Incident Management as well as Request Fulfillment. The Service Desk takes in user feedback as well. Various business and administrative teams provide support to the Service Desk, including both technical support and Application Management. This provides for quicker and more efficient resolution of those high-impact Incidents that can cause lasting change to a business.

5.    Continual Service Improvement. This final stage in ITIL is ongoing. It brings together all of the other stages and helps align services with business needs. This stage also serves to recognize opportunities for positive change and improvement in service.

Ashford Global IT provides ITIL training in several formats, including traditional classroom instruction, online training and self-paced training. Check out our options and choose the format that works for you today.


About this author:

Angel Prusinowski

Angel is a leading ITIL® instructor at Ashford Global IT.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.