Home » ITIL » Change Management: Coordinating Changes for a Smoother Workflow

Change Management: Coordinating Changes for a Smoother Workflow

In the software development world, change is the norm. A Change is anything that is added, modified, or removed that could have an effect on IT services. Changes are required to ensure that business processes and services are cost-effective and of high quality. However, some Changes can disturb the workflow of services, especially if unplanned. Thus, ITIL®, a collection of best practices in IT, has introduced Change Management, a process in Service Transition.

A Brief Introduction to Change Management

Change Management is the process that controls all the Changes which occur during the Service Lifecycle. Through Change Management, the service provider will be able to make “good” Changes in the organization while ensuring that there is minimum disruption to IT services. Though the concept of Change Management has remained the same throughout the three versions of ITIL, a small yet signification addition had been included in ITIL V3 – Change Models.

Change Models are important for documenting and distributing procedures regarding how to handle recurring, low-risk pre-authorized Changes among Service Management staff. With the help of Change Models, IT professionals and business managers will be capable of handling common Changes on their own, provided the authority is delegated to them, rather than forwarding requests to the Change Management department.

The Sub-Processes of Change Management

Like most of ITIL’s processes, Change Management is divided into sub-processes. The eight sub-processes of Change Management are:

  • Change Management Support – This process provides templates and guidance for authorizing Changes and informing other ITSM processes about planned and continuous Changes.
  • RFC Logging and Pre-Evaluation – RFCs (Requests for Change) which do not contain enough information to be assessed properly or those that are impractical are filtered out during this process.
  • RFC Classification – RFCs which aren’t filtered out are verified by checking whether the priority set by the Change Initiator is correct. Plus, RFC Classification helps in determining the level of authority required to approve or reject the RFC.
  • Assessment of Urgent RFC by the ECAB (Emergency Change Advisory Board) – Urgent RFCs are authorized, adjusted or rejected promptly. If there is an emergency or immediate action is required, the ECAB will be called upon to make an emergency decision instead of the Change going through normal Change Management procedures.
  • Change Assessment by the Change Manager – A proposed Change is authorized or rejected in this process. If accepted, the Change will be entered in the Change Schedule.
  • Change Assessment by the CAB (Change Advisory Board) – The CAB recommends the authorization or rejection of a Change and enters it in the Change Schedule if accepted.
  • Change Scheduling – A schedule for implementing the Change is agreed upon during this process. Release and Deployment Management is then responsible for deploying the Change.
  • Change Evaluation – The implementation of the Change is assessed to verify that a complete history is available for future reference. This process also ensures that mistakes are analyzed and reviewed for future reference.

If you’re interested in learning how to effectively manage Changes, then you should study Change Management in the ITIL V3 Service Transition Lifecycle course or the ITIL V3 Release, Control and Validation Capability course.

Come to Ashford Global IT and discover how ITIL’s Change Management can help you improve your Service Lifecycle!


About this author:

Angel Prusinowski

Angel is a leading ITIL® instructor at Ashford Global IT.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.