Home » ITIL » Breaking Down the ITIL® Service Lifecycle

Breaking Down the ITIL® Service Lifecycle

Information Technology TrainingCompanies that provide IT services are part of a constantly changing landscape.

Technology improves at a rapid rate, and the services offered have to consistently adapt in order to meet those changing needs.


Get Familiar with the 5 Lifecycle Stages

The ITIL® structure is an effective way to create a business environment that is ready to adapt when necessary and to operate as efficiently as possible. A pivotal part of the ITIL framework is the idea of service provision being a cycle rather than a single objective. Get familiar with the ITIL Service Lifecycle below, or take a closer look through ITIL training programs.

Phase 1: Service Strategy

This is the birth of the lifecycle, and the stage when ideas are formed that can one day turn into successes for the business and satisfaction for the clients. Service strategy is about developing strategies for the provision of IT services to customers. In addition to the services, participants in this stage of the lifecycle need to understand the objectives of their services and consider the expected outcomes as well as the changing needs of any future or existing clients.

Phase 2: Service Design

With a clear objective in place, service design takes the visionary ideas created in the previous strategy phase and begins the creation of concrete plans. If for example, the goal is to provide a particular service to Company X, then those involved in service design would need to create the documents supporting this service, put a deadline in place for service delivery and outline what tools and resources are needed in order to meet that deadline.

Phase 3: Service Transition

To take detailed plans and turn them into actual services, this stage of the ITIL service lifecycle is integral. Service transition requires assistance from all departments and areas of the business in order to collaborate on the best way to deliver services to clients. Preparations may need to be implemented in order to get staff up to speed on how to deliver specific services, and there may be extensive testing of services before they can be rolled out and presented officially.

Phase 4: Service Operation

This is the stage that clients see up close, so it is important that everyone involved is well versed on their roles and can deliver services perfectly. After months or even years of hard work developing and tweaking services, the service operation stage is when the plans become a reality. Those who work in installation or customer services will typically be on the front lines for service operation.

Phase 5: Continual Service Improvement

The conclusion of the ITIL service lifecycle is the fifth stage, called continual service improvement. Even when services are carefully designed and executed, perfection is rarely achieved. Continual service improvement is all about understanding any performance flaws, taking customer complaints into consideration and learning how to improve service in the future. In many cases, continual service improvement focuses on catching up with technological development, which can rapidly change the needs of customers and the IT services available.

Breaking down the ITIL service lifecycle highlights each of the five stages as well as why they are all important in order to successfully deliver IT services.

Contact Ashford Global today and let’s get your staff training in ITIL Service Lifecycle.


Tags: , ,

About this author:


Frank is a leading trainer in IT Security.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.