Home » ITIL » Breaking Down ITIL® V3 Service Offerings & Agreements

Breaking Down ITIL® V3 Service Offerings & Agreements

Training board webWhat is a service? According to ITIL® V3, “a service is a means of delivering value to customers by facilitating outcomes customers want to achieve, but without the ownership of specific costs and risks.” The ITIL V3 Service Offerings and Agreements (SOA) Certificate is a credential that is necessary for all IT professionals and business managers who want to learn about services and their related functionalities.

The ITIL V3 Service Offerings and Agreements Certificate is part of the ITIL V3 Intermediate Capability stream and is one of the modules that can be used to gain the credits required for the ITIL Expert in IT Service Management Certificate. However, it is also a standalone certificate which can provide you with the knowledge needed to ensure the consistency of any IT service-related activity.

The ITIL V3 Service Offerings and Agreements Certification course will cover the components of SOA. The first of those is a Service Level Agreement (SLA). Basically, a service requires people, processes, and technology, and all of these are identified in SLAs. A SLA covers operational functionalities like availability, reliability, and performance. It also addresses perceived risks around security, privacy, and ownership. As companies become more comfortable with their ability to deliver services, many of them include business success guarantees in the SLA such as guarantees for successful implementations, guarantees for high quality technical support, and even money-back guarantees.

The second component is Service Level Management. Service Level Management is the primary management of IT services as it guarantees that services are delivered at a pre-specified time and place. There are numerous business processes which form this component including reviewing existing services, negotiating with clientele, establishing priorities, and planning for service growth in the future.

Another section of SOA is an Operational Level Agreement (OLA). OLAs are internal agreements that define how two parties in an organization will work together to support the delivery of IT services to customers and users.

Another important element is Financial Management. Several years ago, the Gartner Group introduced the concept of Financial Management. This concept was quickly accepted as the IT world previously faced a lack of formal policies and procedures required to understand the true cost of an asset or service. Plus, quite often budgets were not approved due to limited resources. Incorporating Financial Management in the infrastructure of IT ensures that technological resources are used economically, thereby helping the organization simplify cost allocations, improve visibility into cost structures, and optimize resource management. There are additional components in SOA, and you can learn them all by enrolling in the ITIL V3 Service Offerings and Agreements Certification course.

For that purpose, come to Ashford Global IT (AGIT). In AGIT’s ITIL V3 Service Offerings and Agreements Certification course, you will examine the importance of Service Management as a practice, learn the principles and processes associated with SOA, discover the roles and responsibilities linked to SOA processes, and much more. This knowledge will increase your organization’s ability to deliver and manage services that help achieve its objectives; this information will also optimize the company’s ability to administer and manage services that provide value to the customer.

For more information regarding ITIL training, please contact Ashford Global IT.

Tags: , , ,

About this author:

Angel Prusinowski

Angel is a leading ITIL® instructor at Ashford Global IT.

Comments are closed.