Home » ITIL » Benefits Of The IT Infrastructure Library®

Benefits Of The IT Infrastructure Library®

Books onlineThe IT Infrastructure Library® (ITIL®) is the most widely used approach for IT Service Management (ITSM) in the world. ITIL provides practical guidance for identifying, planning, delivering, and supporting IT services in any business model. ITIL offers a professional and systematic approach to ITSM, thereby enabling organizations to meet their business goals and deliver their products and services in an efficient manner.  In addition, ITIL helps align IT services with the needs and objectives of the business. The ITIL framework can be implemented in any size organization.

There are a number of organizations that have implemented ITIL worldwide due to the benefits it offers.  These organizations include NASA, Disney, IBM, HSBC Bank, and Hewlett-Packard.  Benefits that these organizations have received from implementing the ITIL framework include reduced costs, improved service levels, improved customer satisfaction, improved productivity, improved Return on Investment of IT, improved communication, and improved use of skills and experience.

ITIL contains tried and tested processes; moreover, these processes have been simplified so that they can be used immediately.  This framework includes templates and checklists that can be used the way they are or customized to a particular organization or need.  Services are improved on a continuous basis as feedback is always being received.

ITIL V3 2011 is the most recent edition of the ITIL framework. ITIL V3 2011 is divided into 5 publications, each one focusing on one stage of the Service Lifecycle: Service Strategy, Service Design, Service Transition, Service Operation, and Continual Service Improvement.

Along with the five publications comes a qualification scheme to help IT professionals receive the knowledge they need to understand the ITIL framework.  The ITIL V3 Qualification Scheme has four levels: ITIL Foundation in IT Service Management, ITIL Intermediate Level, ITIL Expert, and ITIL Master.  The ITIL Foundation Level is the introductory course that provides students with the basic concepts, elements, and terminology in ITIL.  In the ITIL Intermediate Level, there are two streams: the Capability Stream, which provides detailed information on process implementation for a group of processes, and the Lifecycle Stream, which provides information on the Service Lifecycle stages from a holistic perspective.  There are four modules in the Capability Stream: Release, Control and Validation; Operational Support and Analysis; Service Offerings and Agreements; and Planning, Protection and Optimization.  There are five modules in the Lifecycle Stream: Service Strategy, Service Design, Service Transition, Service Operation, and Continual Service Improvement. Candidates can concentrate on modules from one stream or select modules from both streams.  The Managing Across the Lifecycle course is the capstone course for the ITIL Intermediate Level and a key requirement for IT professionals looking to achieve the ITIL Expert Level.  The ITIL Master Qualification is the final level in the ITIL V3 Qualification Scheme.

To learn more about ITIL, contact Ashford Global IT today!

Tags: , , ,

About this author:

Angel Prusinowski

Angel is a leading ITIL® instructor at Ashford Global IT.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.