Home » ITIL » An Overview of the ITIL® V3 Service Transition Course

An Overview of the ITIL® V3 Service Transition Course

Opportunity, rise and improvement conceptThe 3-day ITIL® V3 Service Transition course is one of five modules in the Lifecycle Stream in the ITIL Intermediate Level.  This training course explores the overall management and control of activities within the Service Transition phase. Subject areas in this course include Change Management, Release and Deployment Management, Service Validation and Testing, Service Asset and Configuration Management, Knowledge Management, and Service Evaluation.  Other topics covered in the ITIL V3 Service Transition course include:

  • The importance of Service Management as a practice
  • Service Transition principles
  • Service Transition roles and responsibilities
  • How processes in Service Transition interact with other Service Lifecycle processes
  • Service Transition activities
  • Organizing Service Transition
  • How to measure Service Transition performance
  • Technology and implementation considerations associated with Service Transition
  • Challenges, critical success factors, and risks related to Service Transition

This course uses a combination of lecture and scenario-based team and individual activities and exercises to best present the core disciplines of the ITIL Best Practice and prepare learners for the ITIL V3 Service Transition Certification exam.

This 90-minute, closed-book exam consists of 8 multiple-choice, scenario-based, gradient-scored questions.  Each question will have 4 possible answer options: the best choice is worth 5 marks, the second best choice is worth 3 marks, a not so good choice is worth 1 mark, and one distracter achieves no marks.  To earn the ITIL V3 Service Transition Certificate and 3 credits in the ITIL V3 Qualification Scheme, candidates must secure at least 70% of the marks.

The course is intended for –

  • Individuals who wish to receive an in-depth understanding of the Service Transition phase of the ITIL Service Lifecycle.
  • IT professionals who are already working in or set to enter a Service Transition environment.
  • Individuals who wish to attain the ITIL Expert or ITIL Master qualifications.

To enroll in the ITIL V3 Service Transition course, candidates must possess the ITIL V3 Foundation Certificate or the combination of the ITIL V2 Foundation Certification and the V3 Bridge Certificate.

Contact Ashford Global IT today for more information on the ITIL V3 Service Transition course!

Tags: , , , ,

About this author:

Jon Francum

Jon is the Director of Training at Ashford Global IT.

Comments are closed.