Home » ITIL » An Introduction to the ITIL® V3 Continual Service Improvement Course

An Introduction to the ITIL® V3 Continual Service Improvement Course

Keyboard with Improve Efficiency Button.After completing their ITIL® Foundation Certification training, individuals can choose to advance to the next level of ITIL Certification, which is the ITIL Intermediate Level.  There are two streams in the ITIL Intermediate Level: the Capability Stream and the Lifecycle Stream.  Individuals who are interested in learning about the Service Lifecycle and its phases in-depth should select the latter. The ITIL Continual Service Improvement (CSI) Certificate is one of five certifications that candidates can earn in the Lifecycle Stream.

The 3-day ITIL CSI course examines the concepts, processes, policies and methodologies present in the Continual Service Improvement phase of the Service Lifecycle. This ITIL training course also provides an overview of the management and control of activities and techniques within the CSI stage but not the particulars of each of the supporting processes (which are studied thoroughly in the Capability modules).

In the ITIL CSI course, students will review the six steps in the CSI Model:

  • What is the vision?
  • Where are we now?
  • Where do we want to be?
  • How do we get there?
  • Did we get there?
  • How do we keep the momentum going?

The seven steps in the CSI process will also be explored:

  • Define what you should measure
  • Define what you can measure
  • Gather the data
  • Process the data
  • Analyze the data
  • Present and use the information
  • Implement corrective action

In addition, students will learn how CSI processes and activities interact with other processes and activities in the Service Lifecycle.  The roles and responsibilities in the CSI phase are also examined.  Students will study the challenges, critical success factors, and risks related to Continual Service Improvement.  This course uses an engaging, scenario-based style of learning to prepare students for the ITIL V3 Continual Service Improvement Certification exam.

Continual Service Improvement is vital in maintaining and enhancing value for customers through continual evaluation and improvement in the quality of services and processes.  By understanding CSI, certified professionals can help their IT departments provide customers with high-quality services by identifying and implementing improvements to the IT functions that support the business processes.  CSI reviews, analyzes, and makes recommendations on improvement opportunities in each Lifecycle phase.

Contact Ashford Global IT today to learn how Continual Service Improvement can provide value to your organization!

Tags: , , , ,

About this author:


Frank is a leading trainer in IT Security.

Comments are closed.