Home » ITIL » All You Need To Know About the ITIL® V3 Qualification Scheme

All You Need To Know About the ITIL® V3 Qualification Scheme

What is the ITIL® V3 Qualification Scheme? Let’s have a look at it.

ITIL V3 Qualification Scheme

By qualification scheme, we mean a general scheme that defines when and how a candidate will move to next level in ITIL. ITIL has multiple levels and certificates, all of which are linked to each other. Each certificate or stage has its own prerequisites and eligibility criterion that need to be fulfilled in order to gain admission. And yes, candidates need a certain number of minimum credits to move to the next level.

ITIL Foundation Level

This is the first level in the ITIL V3 Qualification Scheme.  In this level, candidates learn the basics of ITIL and IT Service Management. There are no prerequisites to enroll in the ITIL Foundation course. However, successfully completing this level is a requirement if IT professionals wish to move to the next level.

ITIL Intermediate Level

The ITIL Intermediate level consists of two different streams: Lifecycle Stream and Capability Stream. The modules in the Lifecycle Stream explore the Service Lifecycle from a holistic approach.  There are five modules in this Stream – Service Strategy, Service Design, Service Transition, Service Operation, and Continual Service Improvement. The Capability Stream examines a group of processes from an in-depth perspective.  The four modules in the Capability Stream are Release, Control and Validation; Operational Support and Analysis; Service Offerings and Agreements; and Planning, Protection and Optimization. Candidates can choose to enroll in courses in one Stream or modules from both Streams.  The last module in the ITIL Intermediate Level is Managing Across the Lifecycle, which focuses on business, management and supervisory objectives, purposes, processes, functions and activities, and the interfaces and interactions between the processes covered in the Service Lifecycle.

ITIL Expert

The ITIL Expert Level is for IT professionals who want to show their exceptional knowledge of ITIL. To earn this qualification, candidates must possess at least 22 credits, including the ITIL Foundation module, the Managing Across the Lifecycle module, and a balanced selection from the Lifecycle Stream and/or the Capability Stream.

ITIL Master

This is the fourth and the final level in the ITIL V3 Qualification Scheme.  To be eligible for the ITIL Master Certification, candidates must hold the ITIL Expert qualification and have at least five years of ITSM experience.

To learn more about the ITIL V3 Qualification Scheme, contact Ashford Global IT today!

Tags: , , , ,

About this author:


Mary is a leading trainer in Microsoft® and Business Applications.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.