Home » ITIL » A Quick Look at the 6-Step Model of ITIL® Continual Service Improvement

A Quick Look at the 6-Step Model of ITIL® Continual Service Improvement

Road to successContinual Service Improvement (CSI) is one of the five stages in the ITIL® Service Lifecycle. During this phase, Quality Management methods are applied to enhance services and improve customer satisfaction. With the help of continuous feedback, the best methods are further refined. The 6-Step CSI Model demonstrates a constant cycle for improvement and highlights the many opportunities for CSI:

Step 1: What is the vision?

This step highlights an organization’s vision, mission, goals and objectives. The vision should align the business and IT strategies.

Step 2: Where are we now?

At this stage, you analyze where your business stands currently. This stage examines the current situation of the business, organization, people, processes, and technology to record baseline measurements.

Step 3: Where do you want to be?

In this stage, you set specific, measureable goals for your organization.

Step 4: How do we get there?

Here, a detailed Continual Service Improvement Plan is created. This plan provides all the details of improvements that are needed in the business environment to enhance service quality.

Step 5: Did we get there?

This step confirms that measurements and metrics are in place to determine whether or not the organization has achieved its goals and targets.

Step 6: How do we keep the momentum going?

This stage of Continual Service Improvement model ensures that the momentum for improvement in quality is maintained. This model operates in a loop so after this step, the cycle begins again.

To learn how to use the CSI approach to improve your company’s services and processes, enroll in Ashford Global IT’s ITIL V3 Continual Service Improvement course.

Tags: , , , ,

About this author:

Jon Francum

Jon is the Director of Training at Ashford Global IT.

Comments are closed.