Home » ITIL » A Brief Description of the ITIL® Service Design Certification Course

A Brief Description of the ITIL® Service Design Certification Course

After successfully passing the ITIL® Foundation course, candidates can choose to enroll in modules in the ITIL Intermediate Level.  There are two streams in the Intermediate Level: the Lifecycle Stream and the Capability Stream.  Service Design is one of the five modules in the Lifecycle Stream.

The 3-day ITIL Service Design course investigates the overall concepts, processes, policies and methods involved in the Service Design phase of the Service Lifecycle.  This course examines the management and control of activities and techniques within the Service Design stage but not the particulars of each of the supporting processes (which are studied in-depth in modules in the Capability Stream).

After completing the ITIL Service Design course, students will have a deeper understanding of the seven processes that take place within the Service Design phase of the Service Lifecycle: Service Level Management, Supplier Management, IT Service Continuity Management, Availability Management, Capacity Management, Security Management and Service Catalog Management.  In addition, students will understand the five main aspects of design: Service Solutions, Service Portfolio, Technology and Management Architectures, Processes, and Metric System.  Other topics explored in the ITIL Service Design course include:

  • The importance of Service Management as a practice
  • Service Design principles
  • Service Design roles and responsibilities
  • The interactions between processes and activities in Service Design and other phases in the Service Lifecycle
  • Management and application of Service Design concepts, inputs, outputs and activities
  • How to measure Service Design performance
  • Technology and implementation considerations regarding Service Design
  • Challenges, critical success factors, and risks related to Service Design

The ITIL Service Design course at Ashford Global IT fully prepares candidates to pass the ITIL V3 Service Design Certification exam.  This 90-minute exam consists of eight multiple-choice, scenario-based, gradient-scored questions.  Each question will have 4 answer options: the best choice is worth 5 marks, the second best choice is worth 3 marks, a not so good choice is worth 1 mark, and one distracter achieves no marks.  To pass the exam, candidates must secure at least 70% of the marks (28 out of 40 marks).

For more information on the ITIL Service Design Certification course, contact Ashford Global IT today!



About this author:

Angel Prusinowski

Angel is a leading ITIL® instructor at Ashford Global IT.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.