Home » General » Get to Know the Five Service Lifecycle stages

Get to Know the Five Service Lifecycle stages

Colorful idea webITIL® or the IT Infrastructure Library® is a framework that provides the basis for the best practices in IT Service Management (ITSM). It governs IT services to ensure that the end user (customer) is always being provided with the best service possible.

The best practices are achieved by continually measuring the quality of services that are delivered; this is done from both the service provider and the customer perspective. The ITIL approach consists of the five Service Lifecycle stages that we will explore in this article.

These stages are: Service Strategy, Service Design, Service Transition, Service Operation and Continual Service Improvement.

Service Strategy

Service Strategy is the process of understanding your customers and evaluating what is required to satisfy their needs. There is an evaluation process to determine what resources you will need to be able to deliver their requirements successfully.  After the evaluation is complete, a good strategic plan is created to effectively carry out the service while keeping the costs of the service in line with the actual value the customer is receiving.

Service Design

This stage of the Lifecycle speaks specifically to the design of the services and processes to ensure that they efficiently meet the customer’s needs. The newest and most effective technology should always be used but controlled and deployed in a way to make sure the services are cost effective. At all times during the delivery of the service, there must be consistency and the quality of service must always be maintained. Therefore, the Service Design phase is a very important part of the Lifecycle and requires effective management.

Service Transition

This phase will see the design that was created being built, implemented and tested to move into production. This is all done to ensure that the customer will receive the best deliverable at a great value. This stage of the Lifecycle also focuses on the management of the assets and configuration (hardware or software) that is associated with a new or updated system.  Service Transition also includes an intermediary phase for all users of the system to ensure when the new system is up and running, all users are adequately prepared for the conversion.

Service Operation

Once the transition has taken place, the Service Operation phase focuses on the ongoing delivery of the service to the customers. It primarily concentrates on the maintenance of the service to guarantee minimal disruptions in the operations. Therefore, this is the stage that addresses restoration if the service fails by looking at the cause and trying to fix it and prevent a reoccurrence. Service access is also managed at this level of the Service Lifecycle.

Continual Service Improvement

At this stage of the Lifecycle, the services are continually measured to maintain high standards throughout the operation. The continuous monitoring is done with the intention of improving the services, if necessary, to guarantee a high quality deliverable to the client. If a change has to be done, the technology is observed along with the service levels to see how the processes can be updated to be more efficient.


About this author:


Frank is a leading trainer in IT Security.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.